22 Apr

I think it’s starting to get bad…

In 1995 I made a little discovery called America Online. My mom was a teacher and she would get the discs brightly exclaiming things like “5 hours free!” And immediately I was excited. As soon as the modem finished screaming the friendly gentleman exclaimed “Welcome!” and “You’ve got mail!” My pupils dilated. My blood pumped faster. instantly I knew I was hooked.

After I used up those five little hours I decided to find out what else my modem could do so I found the four message boards in Roswell, NM and each one had about 2-15 users on at a time, and that was during peak hours.

Then BLAM, non-AOL 14.4bps internet service hit New Mexico featuring Netscape 1.0! I was double hooked. It wasn’t long before I found IRC and super basic web-based chat, like the kind you’d have to press reload to see new posts. My favorite was Café Kyoto, pretty much the only chat room I could find at the time, and now I can’t even find it on google.

Now here it is, 14 years later and I am currently a member of:

Myspace
Facebook
Twitter
Flickr
DList
lifeOUT
Gay.com
HotorNot (even though I deactivated my account!)
Photobucket
Blogger
Redbubble
Eventful
FMyLife
Ning (and about 6 mini social networks inside that one)
YouTube
Rethos
AND Yahoo!

Is this a problem? Does that count as an addiction? Is there a group I can go to, or maybe just a message board or something I can join?

4 Responses to “”

  1. Martin 22 April, 2009 at 4:37 pm #

    Sound familiar? (two minutes in). Oh and thanks for alerting me to a few things I haven’t signed up to. Perhaps we should set each other challenges that involve, er, leaving the house (without any electronic devices).

  2. Nickname unavailable 4 May, 2009 at 6:50 pm #

    You need to join Linkedin.com. It absolutely, positively ROCKS!!!

  3. Justin Thyme 4 May, 2009 at 8:17 pm #

    lol ok I will 🙂

    do they have an iPhone app?

  4. Charlie 7 August, 2012 at 11:48 am #

    Hi, I were on Café Kyoto too.
    What was your handle back then, and do you remember some of the other nicks?
    Kind Regards
    Charlotte

Leave a Reply

